What a Week! Ft. Polpo, YSL & Wine…

image

It’s been a busy past week, but then again when is it ever not? I still managed to squeeze in lots of eating, cocktails and shopping though so bit of a win all round. Oh and we said goodbye to April and hello to May, which is my birthday month so double win.

1. Dinner at Polpo (and the Negroni bar).

Screen Shot 2015-05-02 at 16.47.04

Despite both myself and my boyfriend being self-confessed foodies, we hadn’t yet ventured into Polpo, even though I’m well aware it’s the bloggers choice of Italian small plate dining.

image-2

Post-work, we headed to Polpo in Farringdon where the 45 minute wait for a table was happily spent in the Negroni bar downstairs. Polpo’s Negronis are strong as hell and come in a pleasing variety. I could have quite happily worked my way through the list but I think I’d probably have fallen off my chair after the third.

Dinner at Polpo was good – standouts being fried olives with anchovies because salty fried things are one of my five a day, and fritto misto. We got too full too quickly though so missed out on the spicy pork and fennel meatballs. We’ll just have to go back instead…

2. Falling In Love Again With YSL’s Touché Éclat.

A total classic of a product, I re-discovered my love for Touché Éclat this week when I found another discount code online and duly purchased. I’ve had a few sleepless nights this week and this gem has been a lifesaver for making me look fresh and awake once more.

3. Sales Sales Sales.

The gods of shopping have smiled upon me this week. I managed to score 20% off when repurchasing Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow foundation (a base obsessed girl’s dream). I then lucked off with the 25% discount at Warehouse with Grazia magazine. SCORE. I’m planning a little work-wear haul post next week to show you what I bought.

4. BIRTHDAY MONTH.

Ah, hello May. I turn 25 later this month and I’m very excited about it. I’m planning a quiet one, with dinner at Rex & Mariano planned with my other half, and a pre-dinner nails/Prosecco celebration with my best friend Phoebe. I can hardly wait.

5. Pub Saturday’s.

I love living in Dulwich for a myriad of reasons: the greenery, the almost villagey feel and the fact that we have SO MANY PUBS nearby. My favourite for food is the Tulse Hill Hotel, but our ‘local’ is the Rosendale which has an excellent cocktail list and a gorgeous sunny back garden.

I’m off to New York tomorrow but normal blogging service will resume as I’ve got several pre-planned posts going up.

Let me know if there’s any beauty products you think I should pick up while I’m stateside? I’m definitely treating myself to a pre-birthday present. Like I really need an excuse…

Leave a Reply

