Va Va Voom… Salon Review of Balayage East Dulwich

DSC_0150

As a South London girl I’m always on the lookout for new local salons, so I was pleased as punch when the team from newly opened Balayage salon in East Dulwich contacted me to invite me down for a visit. A leisurely 15 minute stroll from my flat, the salon is still a work in progress (their official launch will be later in the month) but I loved the bright, open space of the main salon and could see the potential in the rooms at the back which will be perfectly poised for discreet treatments.

Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 11.32.18Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 11.33.33

Charles in action!

I was shown around by Charles, a total sweetheart with a real passion for hairdressing that totally came across. He even very sweetly comped me a blow-dry and gave me some fab volumising tips that I could recreate at home. Now, I am still loving my blonde bob but it has been looking a little flat of late so I thought I’d share what I learnt:

– Post conditioner, use a teeny bit of shampoo just on the roots to ensure no weight is left in your hair.
– Before properly blowdrying your hair, flip your head over and rough dry with a hairdryer, gently finger teasing your hair away from the root.
– Charles used a great mix of products on me to add volume to my hair, from L-R: Goldwell Power Whip Mousse, Matrix’s Total Results Wonder Boost Root Lifter, Indola Volumising Powder Texture and finally Moroccan Oil to add some softness to my hair.
Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 11.26.21

Balayage offers an amazing array of treatments: everything from Brazilian blow dries to Japanese Yuko straightening to beauty treatments like nails, waxing and even non-surgical liposuction. Charles explained that a lot of the local clientele get used to salons offering a variety in Central London salons but don’t get the same options if they want to look locally. I know what he means – the amount of times I’ve had to trek up to central London beauticians or salons because they offer something which I can’t get nearby, so it’s refreshing to see somewhere local offering some choice.Find them here:

Balayage Salon,
358 Lordship Lane,
East Dulwich,
SE22 8SY
Tel: 020 3609 6699

Or follow Balayage on Facebook & Twitter

As I mentioned, they’re still very new but I can’t wait to go back to see what it’s like when everything is up and running. Their prices are very competitive as well and they do a few great deals so I’d definitely recommend a visit if you’re looking for beauty/hair care in the area.

One thought on “Va Va Voom… Salon Review of Balayage East Dulwich

Leave a Reply

