Ace of Base: Laura Mercier Silk Cream Moisturising Photo Edition Review

Screen Shot 2015-06-23 at 13.46.57Screen Shot 2015-06-23 at 13.50.56

As I’ve mentioned before in my Eyeko product review post, I work right next to Harvey Nichols in Knightsbridge. Around lunch time, the siren call of the Beauty department hits me and before I can even consider my actions, I’ve dropped some dough on something a little more luxe than my usual Boots haul.

I’ve been having a bit of a thing for foundations recently, since running out of my usual Bobbi Brown foundation I’ve had flings with L’Oreal Infallible 24-Hour Matte foundation, Benefit’s Hello Flawless Oxygen foundation and So when I saw that an old favourite, the Laura Mercier Silk Cream foundation, had been reformulated and released as the Laura Mercier Silk Cream Moisturising Photo Edition I whipped my debit card out so fast the poor counter girl wasn’t quite sure what was happening. Now, a bit of background – I have combination skin which usually behaves itself pretty well but in the past I’ve opted for the oil-free versions of the LM Silk Cream which does have a slight tendency to cake.

This time, I went for the full-fat version (so to speak), and I’ve found the texture to be so much better for my skin. There’s a gorgeous dewiness to the skin that this formula provides, and the colour match has been great. It seems like there’s a slight yellow undertone to the foundation as well, which really suits my newly blonde locks (pink and yellow really don’t go).

This does have a bit of a tendency to make me ever so shiny around the mid-afternoon mark, however with a good primer and a finely milled setting powder this helps keep the shine at bay. I usually touch up my make up after lunch anyway so it’s not such an issue for me.

Overall, a complete thumbs up from me. Right, so I’ve got my eyes and base sorted, what should I go after next?…

Follow me on Twitter | Follow me on Instagram | Follow me on Bloglovin

9 thoughts on “Ace of Base: Laura Mercier Silk Cream Moisturising Photo Edition Review

    1. Haha, yes it’s a direct reference! I’d say it’s a lighter consistency than the old version, but it’s still pretty full coverage. It leaves your skin dewier than the old formula though which means it doesn’t quite *cling* to the skin like it used to (which I hated!). I loved the Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua but lately I keep finding the consistency too watery for me! x

      Like

    1. Have to say, the formula has got a tiny bit watery in the past couple of weeks. Not sure if it’s a teething thing with the new formula but one to consider! I had a look at your blog, looks awesome! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

