I’m Getting Married!

BeFunky Collage.jpg

It’s been quite a while since I’ve blogged but I’ve got a very exciting reason to get started again. Two weeks ago my lovely, lovely boyfriend surprised me in the park after a picnic with a gorgeous sapphire and diamond antique engagement ring.

If I’m 100% honest, it wasn’t a *total* surprise, given that we’ve been talking about getting married for a while, and he’d checked with me on what style of ring I liked, but it was still a bit of a shock to see him actually on one knee. I almost asked him “Why are you weirdly kneeling like that” but thank god I kept that to myself.

I don’t wear any jewellery on a day-to-day basis (I’ve tried, but I’m just not an accessories kind of gal) so he really wanted to make sure I’d actually like it, which of course I do. I’ve gone full Gollum and am refusing to take it off, save for sleeping or washing up.

Now, onto the big one – the wedding planning. I’ve done pretty damn well in the past two weeks with getting everything lined up. It helps having a secret Pinterest board (that can finally go public – hurrah!) and a keen sense of organisational detail.

So far, I’ve lined up the venue, the photographer, the DJ (he’s a cracker) and bought my shoes which I nabbed in the sales online. Our working date is 25th March next year which is only a crazy seven months away.

We definitely want a low-key wedding and both of us want to get married as soon as possible. For me, it’s because my grandma has been unwell this past year and she is 88 so seems a little unfair to make her wait much longer. Her response when I told her I was engaged was hilarious: “Oh thank god, it’s finally happening!”

The big next steps are sorting out the guestlist (both my SO and I have big families – eep), booking the registrar and sending out the invites. Once that’s done I’m going to take a breather until October when Operation #FindMyWeddingDress begins.

Any brides-to-be or married ladies with wedding planning tips, hit me up! I’ve taken to scouring Pinterest and sites like The Knot and Rock My Wedding but a personal recommendation is always a winner.

Follow me on Twitter | Follow me on Instagram | Follow me on Bloglovin

  

One thought on “I’m Getting Married!

Leave a Reply

